Trip to Atlanta

At Mines Paristech, students in the program Master of science in executive engineering, better known as cycle ingenieur civil, are required to choose a minor, called option, among the different fields offered by the university. For each option, a one-week trip is organized abroad during which students get a chance to visit places related to the topic they picked. This year, students in the option MAREVA (which stands for applied mathematics, robotics, computer vision and control) traveled one week in the south east of the United States. This document describes the different visits they made and summarizes the lessons that the students learn from this trip.

We were welcomed by Robert S. McFadden, plant manager, who began by offering some drinks and snacks. Then we received the instructions concerning our visit. The use of cameras was forbidden in the whole site, which is why we do not have any pictures of the visit. He was proud to show us that very few accidents ever happened at Saint-Gobain, and that there had been no lost-time injuries (i.e. injuries that prevent the employees from working for any period of time) this year. He listed the various dangers related to the use of the machines: heat, noise and dust; he explained that these dan- gers were taken care of and that safety of every employee was of paramount importance.

After a brief overview of the history of Huntsville, the plant engineer gave us some figures concerning the site of Saint-Gobain. For instance, he explained that it consumes around 18.5 MW per month, and that it consumes in one hour the electricity used by two houses for a full year. Then he told us about the major businesses of this 100 employees site: the production of grain for abrasives, such as sand paper, grinding wheels… and the refraction of zircon for electronics, high temperature isolation and so on. These businesses yield around 80 million dollars per year.

Finally, he briefly explained the various processes that these materials undergo and presented us to the employees that would lead us during the visit.

HudsonAlpha institute for biotechnology is the landlord of several companies (among which MicroArrays Inc, Serina, Egen) and hosts scientific labs (research in genomic).

MicroArrays Inc. produces orderly arranged DNA and protein capture probes attached to solid substrate. This aims at detecting genetic mutations, sub- typing cancer and diagnosing diseases (identification of pathogens).

They make different products: 25 ⇥ 75mm glass side (microscope com- patible size) array with 48 blocks (1160 capture probes/block) and 96-well microplate for example.

The main benefit of having this kind of array is that each probe can capture one biological piece of information, therefore it is possible to run several tests at the same time.

Examples of use:

• Expression profiles: we mark genes with different colors and we can determine which one is on/off in each patient cell by simply observing the color profile. This process is used to diagnose cancer for instance.

• Diagnostic arrays in the case of infection diseases: we deposit different antibiotics, and according to the resistance profile, we can figure out which one is good for the patient.

We visited the assembly line of the Nissan Smyrna plant on a little train driven by two guides. We were wearing a headset in order to hear their explanations. As we were not authorized to take pictures during the tour, all the images below were gathered on the web.

The factory is able to produce 2000 vehicles per day which represent 1 vehicle each 27 seconds. Five Nissan models are produced out there: Versa, Altima, Maxima, Pathfinder and the brand new Rogue (named Qashqai in Europe). The three first models are sedans and the last two are SUVs. The factory also produces some Infinity vehicles (which is the luxury brand of Nissan).

The factory was closed the day before we visited it to prepare the assembly lines to produce the new Rogue. During the tour we did not see the whole factory because some steps of the process are located on other buildings.

On Thursday evening, the group was invited at the French consulate. Nicolas Florsch, the Scientific attach at the General Consulate of France had been a great support to get some contacts for visits and it was the occasion to meet and thank him, as well as the consul. We were welcomed in prosperous apartments, typically French style; this interior decoration was very different from all we saw before, with its paintings, ornamented lustrums and mirrors. The consul first welcomed us; he had prepared a little speech, and as everyone understood French, he could tell it in our mother tongue.

We were welcomed by Professor Yves H. Berthelot, teacher in Mechanical Engineering and now in charge of relationships between Georgia Tech and foreign colleges and companies. He told us about Georgia Tech and the role it plays in the city of Atlanta, and in particular in its economical and demographical growth.

From 1985 to 2013, Atlanta’s population increased from 1.8 million people to about 6 million habitants and it is the home city of some of the biggest companies, such as CNN, Coca-Cola, Delta, etc.

During our visit of the laboratory we saw a few French-made quadrotor helicopters, as well as two golem robots, able to overcome obstacles and move freely in a constrained environment. These robots were quite impressive: one of them even had its own training room.

A student also showed us his work on the tablet interface of a robot with 15 degrees of freedom and two Kinects. His goal was to make this incredibly complex robot and interface much more user-friendly. He showed us how to control this robot using only the tablet, in order to create series of simple tasks such as opening a test tube or putting pieces of equipment away. The screen of the tablet also displays the view from the many cameras located on the arms and torso of the robot.

We attended a presentation about the research activities in the Dynam- ics and Control Systems Laboratory (DCSL) given by Professor Panagiotis Tsiotras who is the lab director. DCSL is located in Georgia Tech’s School of Aerospace Engineering. Professor Panagiotis gave us an overview of its past, present, and future projects. His lab deals with theoretical and experimen- tal investigation of highly complex and uncertain aerospace and mechanical systems. Topics of research are spacecraft control, control of high speed vehi- cles, path-planning, UAVs, wavelets in control and multi rendezvous orbital transfers. The lab currently has 7 PhD students.

Following the visit of the DCSL, we had the opportunity to discover the Bio Robotics and Human Modeling Laboratory. This lab of approximately 6 graduate students is directed by Dr Jun Ueda, who began at Georgia Tech in May 2008.

Last but not least, this trip was the opportunity to discover the United Sates and have a glance at the American culture. For some students, it was the first time in this country. They will of course remember the large choice of fast food restaurants, the impressive size of cars, which are far bigger that what can be seen around Boulevard Saint Michel in Paris, and the popularity of football and baseball, often broadcasted in restaurants and bars. The timing of the trip also allowed knowing more about the American political system. Indeed, the trip occurred right in the middle of the shutdown and the negotiations concerning the debt ceiling.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Voyage à Atlanta

À l’école des MINES Paristech, les étudiants du programme Master of Science suivant le cycle ingénieur civil, sont tenus de choisir une option entre les différents domaines proposés. Pour chaque option, un voyage d’une semaine est organisé à l’étranger au cours duquel les étudiants ont la chance de visiter des lieux liés au thème qu’ils ont choisi. En 2013, les étudiants de l’option Mareva (mathématiques appliquées, robotique, vision par ordinateur et contrôle) se sont rendus une semaine le sud-est des Etats-Unis.

Nous avons été accueillis par Robert S. McFadden, directeur de l’usine Saint-Gobain. Nous avons reçu les instructions concernant notre visite. L’utilisation de caméras est interdite dans l’ensemble du site, ce qui explique pourquoi nous n’avons pas de photos de la visite. Le directeur était fier du faible taux d’accident de l’usine Saint-Gobain, et qu’il n’y avait pas eu de blessures impliquant une perte de temps (blessures qui empêchent les employés de travailler pendant une période de temps) cette année. Il a énuméré les différents dangers liés à l’utilisation des machines : la chaleur, le bruit et la poussière, il a expliqué que ces dangers ont été pris en charge et que la sécurité de chaque employé est d’une importance primordiale.

Après un bref aperçu de l’histoire de Huntsville, l’ingénieur de l’usine nous a donné quelques chiffres concernant le site de Saint-Gobain. Par exemple, il a expliqué qu’il consomme environ 18,5 MW par mois, et qu’il consomme en une heure l’ électricité utilisée par les deux maisons pendant une année complète. Puis il nous a parlé des grandes pôles de ce site de 100 salariés : la production de céréales pour les abrasifs, tels que du papier de verre, meules… et la réfraction de zirconium pour l’électronique, l’isolation à haute température et ainsi de suite. Ces entreprises ont un chiffre d’affaire d’environ 80 millions de dollars par an.

Enfin , il a expliqué brièvement les différents processus que ces matériaux subissent et nous a présenté aux employés qui nous conduirait au cours de la visite.

L’Institut HudsonAlpha pour la biotechnologie est le propriétaire de plusieurs entreprises (dont microarrays Inc , Serina , Egen ) et de laboratoires scientifiques (recherche en génomique) .

MicroArrays Inc. produit des matrices de protéine d’ADN attachées à un substrat solide. Cela vise à détecter les mutations génétiques, le cancer et certaines maladies (identification des agents pathogènes).

Ils font des produits différents : 25 ⇥ côté du verre 75mm (compatible avec un microscope ) tableau avec 48 blocs ( 1160 sondes de capture / bloc ) et microplaques de 96 points par exemple.

Le principal avantage d’avoir ce genre de réseau est que chaque sonde peut capturer une partie biologique de l’information, il est donc possible d’exécuter plusieurs tests en même temps.

Exemples d’utilisation:

• Les profils d’expression : ils permettent de marquer les gènes avec des couleurs différentes et de déterminer lequel est actif ou non dans chaque cellule du patient en observant simplement le profil de couleur. Ce procédé est utilisé pour diagnostiquer le cancer par exemple.

• Tableaux de diagnostic dans le cas des maladies infectieuses : différents antibiotiques sont déposés, et selon le profil de résistance, on peut observer leurs actions.

Nous avons visité la chaîne de montage de l’usine de Smyrna Nissan sur un petit train conduit par deux guides. Nous avons porté un casque afin d’entendre leurs explications. Nous n’étions pas autorisés à prendre des photos pendant la tournée.

L’usine est capable de produire 2000 véhicules par jour ce qui représente 1 véhicule toutes les 27 secondes. Cinq modèles Nissan sont produits là-bas: Versa , Altima, Maxima , Pathfinder et le tout nouveau Rogue (nommé Qashqai en Europe). Les trois premiers modèles sont les berlines et les deux derniers sont des SUV. L’usine produit également des véhicules de la marque Infinity (qui est la marque luxueuse de Nissan).

L’usine a été fermée la veille de notre visite pour préparer les lignes d’assemblage pour produire le nouveau Rogue. Au cours de la visite, nous n’avons pas vu toute l’usine parce que certaines étapes de la procédure sont situées sur d’autres bâtiments.

Jeudi soir, le groupe a été invité au consulat français. Nicolas Florsch, attaché scientifique au Consulat général de France a été d’un grand soutien pour obtenir les contacts pour les visites et c’était l’occasion de se rencontrer et de remercier, ainsi que le consul. Nous avons été accueillis dans de magnifiques appartements, style français ; cette décoration était très différent de tout ce que nous avons vu avant, avec ses tableaux, lustres et miroirs ornés. Le consul nous a accueillis, il avait préparé un petit discours, et comme tout le monde comprenait le français , il pouvait le dire dans notre langue maternelle.

Visite de Georgia Tech.

Nous avons été accueillis par le Professeur Yves H. Berthelot , professeur en génie mécanique et désormais en charge des relations entre Georgia Tech, les universités et les sociétés étrangères. Il nous a expliqué le rôle de Georgia Tech et son implication dans la ville d’Atlanta, en particulier dans sa croissance économique et démographique .

De 1985 à 2013, la population d’Atlanta est passée de 1,8 million de personnes à environ 6 millions d’habitants et est la ville d’origine de certaines des plus grandes entreprises, telles que CNN, Coca-Cola , Delta, etc

Lors de notre visite du laboratoire, nous avons vu quelques hélicoptères de fabrication française quadrotor, ainsi que deux robots Golem, capables de surmonter les obstacles et se déplacer librement dans un environnement contraint. Ces robots sont assez impressionnants : l’un d’eux a même eu sa propre salle de formation.

Un étudiant nous a aussi montré son travail avec un robot disposant de 15 degrés de liberté et de deux Kinect. Son but était de rendre ce robot et l’interface complexe beaucoup plus convivial. Il nous a montré comment contrôler ce robot en utilisant uniquement une tablette tactile, afin de créer une série de tâches simples telles que l’ouverture d’un tube à essai ou mettre du matériel à l’abri. L’écran de la tablette affiche également le point de vue des nombreuses caméras situées sur les bras et le torse du robot.

Nous avons assisté à une présentation sur les activités de recherche dans le Laboratoire des systèmes dynamiques et de contrôle (DCSL) donnés par le professeur Panagiotis Tsiotras qui est le directeur du laboratoire. DCSL est situé à l’École de génie aérospatial de Georgia Tech. Le Professeur Panagiotis nous a donné un aperçu de ses projets passés, présents et futurs. Son laboratoire s’occupe de la recherche théorique et expérimentale de systèmes mécaniques de l’aérospatiale et très complexe et incertain. Les sujets de recherche sont le contrôle d’engin spatial, le contrôle à grande vitesse de véhicules, la planification des trajets, les drones, les ondelettes en matière de contrôle et de transferts orbitaux. Le laboratoire compte actuellement 7 doctorants.

Après la visite du DCSL, nous avons eu l’occasion de découvrir le laboratoire de bio-robotique et de modélisation humaine. Ce laboratoire d’environ 6 étudiants des cycles supérieurs est dirigé par le Dr juin Ueda, qui a commencé à Georgia Tech en mai 2008.

Ce voyage a été l’occasion de découvrir les états unies et avoir un regard sur la culture américaine. Pour certains élèves, c’était la première fois dans ce pays. Ils se rappellerons du grand choix de restaurants fast-food, la taille impressionnante de certaines voitures, qui sont beaucoup plus gros que ce qui peut être vu autour du boulevard Saint Michel à Paris, et la popularité du football et de baseball, souvent diffusée dans les restaurants et les bars. Le moment du voyage a également permis à connaître davantage le système politique américain. En effet, le voyage a eu lieu en plein milieu du « shutdown » et les négociations concernant le plafond de la dette.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *